Fitness Progress & New Buys

It feels great when you actually start to see small changes right? When your hard work actually pays off. In the winter I was way bloated, hippy, and I just felt frumpy over all. I feel like I’m starting to slowly get my body back! Of course, not without heartache. At first my sugar cravings were through the roof, now they have almost disappeared. I’ve been noticing I have been eating smaller portions, get full quicker, and if I eat something crappy I definitely pay for it later.

I have been drinking loads of lemon water, sometimes I’ll spice it up and mix in cucumber or blueberries. I will literally try to drink a jug a day. The lemon water has definitely helped with my bloating and stomach. I have also still been eating mostly organic food and the more I eat it the better I feel! And I’ll tell anyone who wants to hear it!

Considering Justin is currently at the other end of the country, I have been taking the time to eat things that he wouldn’t normally like. I’ve been more adventurous and eager with cooking dishes like tofu pad Thai, avocado cucumber salad with hemp hearts, and guacamole deviled eggs, etc. Working as much as I have been has kept me busy and distracted even though I’m missing my babe like crazy! But I have been trying to make the most of my alone time to keep up these positive changes.

Anyways, what’s been working for myself with my busy schedule, is to make small realistic goals. I know realistically I wont be able to work out or run everyday but I have been trying to at least do yoga as much as I can. I figure if it takes 20 minutes I can somehow fit it into my schedule. I’m learning everyday that what you put on or in your body makes all the difference. Also, celebrate the small accomplishments!

24

Some new and exciting things I have added to the kitchen! I figured I would try some organic milk. With a $2 bottle deposit it was around $5 for the liter, but now I can return the bottle and only pay around $3 from here on out. I kid you not, it’s like you can taste the grass in this milk! (I know that may not sound that appealing but trust me it was delicious and I felt a 1000% better about drinking it). Organic milk contains more Omega-3 and Conjugated Linoleic Acid (CLA), which increases the body’s metabolic rate, immunity to disease, and muscle growth. It also reduces abdominal fat, cholesterol, and allergic reactions. along with that organic milk has no chemical contamination and more antioxidants than conventional milk! If you want more info on the health benefits of organic milk click here. I also decided to swap out refined table salt for pink Himalayan salt. The salt is made naturally, is unprocessed and is said to be the purest form of sea salt. It’s loaded with 80+ minerals and vitamins and comes along with amazing health benefits! Here are just a few that I learned when doing some research on it:

  • Create an electrolyte balance
  • Increases hydration
  • Regulate water content both inside and outside of cells
  • Balance pH (alkaline/acidity) and help to reduce acid reflux
  • Prevent muscle cramping
  • Aid in proper metabolism functioning
  • Strengthen bones
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Help the intestines absorb nutrients
  • Improve circulation
  • Dissolve and eliminate sediment to remove toxins
  • Increase libido
  • Reduce the signs of aging
  • Detoxify the body from heavy metals

 

26

It’s all about the small changes! Since I still haven’t bought all the ingredients to make my own toothpaste and deodorant, a quick fix was to replace the ones I was using now with a more natural option from my local health food store. The deodorant was around $6 and the toothpaste was $5, but to be honest the price difference is not too much more from what I would have normally spent at the pharmacy. Toothpaste and deodorant are normally around $3-$5 each anyways! So I feel a lot better making the switch. I also got witch hazel, which I have mostly been using on my face. It makes me skin soooo smooth! Clears up blemishes and pimples and also removes my makeup. The good thing about witch hazel is that it can be used for so many other things! like bug spray, a toner, a natural spray on deodorant, etc. If you’d like to look into other uses for witch hazel, check out this article. I am really only missing a few things off my big list, which can be seen in my previous blog post Back to the Basics.

25

It’s been on-going but I’m loving the way I’ve been feeling and making changes has just been getting easier and easier for me. It’s honestly addicting, once you start you just want to keep going! And once you notice the positive impacts you just want to maintain it.

Leave a Reply

