Lavender Bath Bombs

I really wanted to add some fun DIY elements into all our Christmas presents this year. We all know we appreciate the DIY gifts the most, or is that just me? It takes time, effort, and love. We tried to make our Christmas presents a lot more sentimental this year and we actually considered what people might use day to day. Bath bombs are fun to make and use. I found this recipe HERE.

bath-bombs

Most things I had at home but there was a few things I needed to run out and buy in the end.

1 cup Baking Soda
1/2 cup Citric Acid (I unfortunately went to buy this late and was only able to source it out at the pharmacy and not my local health food store)
1/2 cup Cornstarch
3 tablespoons Epsom Salt
2 teaspoons Sweet Almond Oil (you can also use witch hazel)
15 drops Lavender Oil
A few tablespoons of dried Organic Lavender Flowers

Silicone Mold or Stainless Steel Ornament. (Amazon 2.99!)

In a stainless steel bowl mix all the dry ingredients together and then in a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients together (Meaning the Almond Oil & Lavender Oil). In this recipe I eliminated the water completely and used 1 more tablespoon of almond oil.

Add wet to dry and use your hands to mix, the mixture should clump lightly together in your hand, if it isn’t staying together nice at all add more oil or witch hazel, not water as it will make the citric acid and baking soda fizz on contact. I found this recipe was good, it just needed more oil sometimes.

the recipe called for the mix to sit in the molds for 2 hours but I only had one mold so I needed to be a little careful. I put them all aside to set over night in a flat pie dish. I could make 2 batches and that gave me 13 all together.

bath-bombs2

Make sure to use within 4-6 months as different environments and moisture levels can effect them differently and they do expire at some point.

For my first time making bath bombs it was actually really easy and fun. the recipe was great and they are holding together pretty nice!

Leave a Reply

