Living Naturally: a day to day process & what I’ve learned (so far)

When I initially started this blog it was mainly for the purpose of slimming down before the wedding and improving my overall lifestyle, eating habits, and the way I feel. I can confidently say that I’ve managed to maintain most of what I set out to do last April, even with the stress of the wedding and being so ill. Actually when I was at the peak of my pregnancy sickness it was a big eye opener to see how committed I really was. I attempted to go the natural route with everything I could manage. I started to become even more conscious about what I was putting on my skin or in my body.

– What I have Done –

  • I’ve managed to still keep to making and using my own household cleaners and have no store bought in my house
  • I still have been using some of my own homemade toiletry products and when I haven’t been able to make my own, I’ve sourced out local organic companies and purchase what I need from them.
  • I have slowly been switching over my make-up products to natural/vegan/cruelty free products
  • We have slowly been able to switch pantry products like flour, sugar, herbs, etc to organic (this is a slow process but we’re getting there)
  • I’ve managed to keep a few sturdy indoor plants alive and happy to help improve our indoor air quality
  • Essential oils are magic and I use them daily

Lets start with the homemade cleaners, this is still my most basic routine. 1 bottle of all purpose cleaner lasts me about 2-3 weeks and by then I already have a freshly made up batch of citrus vinegar in the pantry ready. As long as you make a fresh batch to sit and steep for 2 weeks as soon as you use the stored batch then you’ll never have to worry about being out, ever. Also the Lavender Orange Laundry Detergent I made is STILL going strong! I even use a little more than what I recommended (with three people in the house) and there is still about 1/4 left, after 6 months! What I love about homemade cleaners is how cheap they are to make and how long they last me. Honestly, talk about saving money, this is a sure fire way to do it.

When it comes to toiletries I am still a girl at heart and love to go shopping for all that fun stuff like deodorant, shampoos, body washes, etc. While I make some stuff for myself there are certain objects I’ve learned over time that I just prefer to buy. After making my own toothpaste and mouthwash I had such a hard time mentally wondering how clean my mouth and teeth actually were (homemade products aren’t meant to lather and foam in your mouth). So after some time experimenting with the recipes I decided I’d prefer to buy my own natural brands. Another problem that came up was that sometimes I wouldn’t go through my homemade products quick enough (considering there’s no added preservatives). I learned quick to only make the products that I know I’ll use everyday or else there was no point..they would be bad within a 2 weeks. Lately due to my pregnancy I’ve been so sick that I have just been slacking hard on making anything for myself. In this case I went to my trusty back up brands. Burt’s Bees is a big one for me, The Green Beaver (local to Ontario), and the JASON brand have been the main manufacturers I’ve purchased and really enjoy (my next post will be my own personal beauty routine and my own product reviews).

burts

Like I said, its been a slow process, which I knew it would be right from the beginning. You cant equip yourself with everything at once and you really need to be dedicated to the cause of removing chemicals from your environment. I have just been buying small things here and there whenever I manage to get to the health food store or have some extra money. I’ve learned that once you actually have most of everything you need, it takes a while to run out. It took months before I was out of cleaning vinegar, which gives me 6 months of all purpose cleaner for $2.99.

There were some aspects of my natural overhaul that I was not able to keep up with, either due to money or circumstances. Although we LOVED our organics live box subscription we found with the upcoming wedding at the time, we weren’t able to keep up with it. Overall I’ve learned that organic food is by far our most hefty cost. Now that all our funds aren’t going to a wedding we want to start up the subscription again because we loved how we felt when we were eating organically, you truly notice a huge difference in your body and how you feel.

Lets just say my planned fitness routine went right out the window…yup that’s right, the whole reason I started this blog in the first place. Although yoga was a lot easier to keep up with I managed to slip with that too somewhere going into my pregnancy and how sick I was. I think I was setting myself unrealistic goals for only 3 months before the big day. I’ve realized when it comes to working out it shouldn’t feel like a daily chore or task. Now that I am pregnant I can really only stick to yoga as it is and keep the vigorous exercise for after the baby.

There is still so much I want to do and accomplish for myself. I’m sure once I accomplish most of this there will just be more to do and experiment with. The process of self growth and self love is never ending and I see this as self love. I am going out of my way to change my lifestyle for the best, for myself, for my baby, and even for my husband. He’s jumped on the bandwagon too and has been so supportive throughout the entire process. I really enjoy that I can still live a normal life day to day in this day and age, when everything is so expensive and a normal person lives pay check to pay check. I can still equip myself with everything I need yet still not miss out on the luxuries of life either. I just feel so much better about what goes on or in my body, its a rewarding feeling, knowing I am doing this for myself. I thought I would continue the good streak and positivity by making a few more goals for myself.

– What I still want to do –

  • Yoga to prepare my body for labor
  • Continue to switch out for more organic food and products
  • I eventually want to work on building a natural pantry and medicine cabinet for a complete natural overhaul (future posts)
  • I’d like to switch out plastic items in my house for glass wherever possible to eventually live a plastic free (or mostly) life. Especially things like tupperware
  • (Eventually) Get an organic mattress for ourselves and the baby
  • Simplify and further declutter my surroundings

Overall there are 3 main things I have learned living naturally day to day.

  1.  BE PATIENT, it takes dedication, time, and ofcourse money. It’s easy to slip and that’s okay if you do! I’m not going to say there hasn’t been a couple times I’ve caved and told babe to bring me home McDonald’s. It’s been 9 months since I started this blog and I am not nearly close to where I want to be (yet). Supportive friends and family help along the way!
  2. KNOW YOUR SELF WORTH, remember in the long haul that you are doing this for you. Your body deserves to thrive and not be overly exposed to nasty day to day toxins. Practice self love by being the best you can be and doing the best for yourself and family. Celebrate your efforts, even if they’re small or don’t seem all that important.
  3. STOCK UP, The idea is to make an “inventory” so that you equip yourself with what you need to make almost anything. Do research or list out what you use day to day. Write expiration dates on things you make!
Leave a Reply

