One Door Closes & Another One Opens; Welcoming 2017 with Open Arms

2016 was a bitch. It will be known as the year that was relentless with celebrity deaths and tragedies. Things happened that the world thought would never happen. Hey, even Donald Trump became the next President of the United States, that alone was huge. While everyone was crying over Trumps victory and David Bowie’s demise, I was going through my life’s milestones. Engagement, promotion, marriage, and then pregnancy. I can definitely say 2016 was a HUGE year for me and I don’t regret it one bit! Within the 9 months of starting this blog I decided to make some big lifestyle changes and I actually kept to them. Instead of vowing to go to the gym and loose weight, I made a promise to start making better decisions about what is going on or in my body. Whether that be food, cosmetics, cleaning products, perfumes, etc. I’ll be honest and say that I’ve never usually stuck to these things I promise myself but this has been one lifestyle change that’s been easy for me and slightly addicting as well. The more natural you go, the more natural you want to go (if that makes sense).

As we close off the 2016 year I’m sure many people are relieved. Relieved to have another chance to start over, make better decisions, actually make changes. Most of the time we slip after a few months and fail to change our routines and habits in the end anyways. I personally don’t see this New Year as an opportunity to “start over”. I am quite content with the path that I have laid out for myself and I’m happy with the decisions I made.

I’ve learned that I am a lot stronger than I give myself credit for. Not only when it came to my will power and dedication to my new lifestyle, but also physically. Throughout the first trimester of my pregnancy my body went through a lot dealing with hyperemesis gravidarum and even when it felt hopeless and that I was going to be sick for the rest of my life I made it through and I’m proud of that.

2016 was also the year that I learned that an empowering and real relationship is possible if two people are willing to fully dedicate themselves to each other. I never thought 5 years ago I’d be in the best relationship I’ve ever been in and that having a partner who didn’t cheat on you constantly was a real thing. I also never thought I could find someone who actually cares about my well being day to day. Relationships don’t just work out that way they take a lot of work and dedication. We work hard for our relationship, we give each other space, and respect each other. It requires you to not be selfish and work as a team.

Finally the last thing I learned this year…and its a very simple concept, is that you get what you put into things. I used to hear this all the time but I guess I never really understood how broad this statement could really stretch. You get what you put into your body, and your work outs. If you dedicate the time and effort to your new lifestyle you will reap the benefits from it in the end. This was just something I didn’t realize until I actually committed myself to it.

Tomorrows New Years Eve and I’ve been reflecting on the crazy year I just had and the crazy year to come. As I said I don’t see it as “starting over”, I just see it as continuing what I’ve already started. January for me is dedicated to self-love. I am off work for another month and then we will be packing up and moving before the birth! It’ll be busy, it’ll be stressful, but I’m using the next 30 days to focus on myself & preparation for the coming year. Here are my personal “resolutions” for the 2017 year.  

Accept that I’ll be sharing my body for the next 6 months and that it will be a long time before I will feel or look the way I did before and that’s okay!

Its “mommy” time, it’s not “look good in a bikini” time.
Some things are just more important now.

Concentrate on Self-Love

Continue to pamper myself.
Make time for fun things and also relaxation.
Yoga & the Chiropractor to prepare my body for upcoming labor
Making the right decisions about food or products going on/in your body, cant get more self-love then that.

Appreciate & Respect my Husband (not that I don’t already)

This is in here because its something important that should never slip or be put to the back burner in my life.
It should be a constant effort.

Be the Best Mother I can be

This of course speaks for itself.

Simplify my Surroundings

Throw away clutter and unused things, de-stress!
Think Minimalist!
Everything should have a place.
If you don’t need it don’t buy it.

Continue to Dedicate Myself more to the Natural Lifestyle

Continue to eat organically**
Continue to slowly replace certain items for natural substitutes.
Make a Natural Medicine Cabinet
Make a Natural Pantry

I’m actually excited for the upcoming year, I’m excited to prove to myself that I can do it! All my resolutions are realistic and I am already in a solid mind set to continue with the goals I laid out for myself 9 months ago when I started blogging. So here I am, welcoming 2017 with open arms. I’ll be not only a wife but a mommy and that’s going to be my biggest milestone yet. 2016 was the year that I surprised myself with what I could actually accomplish and 2017 is going to surprise me even more, I know it.

Leave a Reply

