My Natural (Daily) Beauty Routine

I thought I would share my day to day routine and my own reviews on the products. I’m excited about this post because I feel as though its take years for me to find products and a routine that finally work with my skin and that I would commit to.

Face

Thayer’s Witch Hazel: I use this as a makeup remover, toner, acne/blemish treatment and even when I have a fever or its super hot out and need a refresh. I use this daily, sometimes 2x a day. Its gentle, effective, and so versatile.

Burt’s Bees Soap Bark & Chamomile Cleansing Cream:  I love this stuff, it moisturizes my skin so well without leaving that tight skin feeling (especially during the dry winter months when my skin just flakes off). The chamomile is a huge refresher, especially in the mornings and it leaves my skin tingling and cool. For something that’s 100% natural its so invigorating.

Burt’s Bees Peach & Willow Bark Scrub: I use this when I notice I have dry, flaky skin and need to exfoliate. I also use my own DIY Green Tea Aloe Face Scrub. The Burt’s Bees is more coarse while my own face scrub uses a more refined sugar. This is two completely different feels.

Sweet Almond Oil: I use this as a eye make up remover more specifically, its gentle and works great on removing makeup. I’m really surprised by how often I use it, a little really goes a long way. I’ve used this as a general moisturizer and even tanning oil. What I love about sweet almond oil is that is absorbs really quickly and doesn’t leave your skin greasy at all. Its also a key ingredient in bath bombs, DIY cosmetics and recipes, etc.

Burt’s Bees Coconut Pear Lip Balm: (or the Peppermint) I love Burt’s Bees lip balms, I used to use Chapstick all the time. I found that it dried out your lips so much quicker and would actually give me chapped lips rather then fixing chapped lips. I never have that problem with Burt’s!

face

Body & Hair

Lafes Lavender Deodorant: This was the first natural deodorant I tried and I haven’t even tried any others. Its very gentle and I have never ever had an issue with smell or body odor.

The Green Beaver Lavender Body Lotion: This is by far one of the best lotions I’ve used. It absorbs quick but leaves my skin so moisturized! It smells unreal and doesn’t leave my skin feeling greasy. I also like that the Green Beaver is local to Ontario.

Burt’s Bees Rosemary Mint Body Wash: This is actually a new buy for me but so far I’m loving it. I love the smell and I feel very refreshed after I shower. It also lathers decently well considering that its natural.

Burt’s Bees Honey & Grapeseed Hand Cream: I am so picky with hand cream and this is by far the best one I’ve used. It leaves my hands moisturized for hours, the smell is very subtle, and its not greasy at all. When my hands get dry they get wrinkly and I have always been self conscious of that but this hand cream leaves my skin smooth and perfect. I’m so happy I found this product, I’ll be buying the full size product for sure.

Carina Organics Citrus Shampoo/Conditioner: This is also a new buy for me, I was a little hesitant because I normally spend good money on salon shampoos, my hairs very coarse and frizzy. I am so far not disappointed at all! They smell SO good, my hair feels super light when it dries and my natural curls really come through. I also noticed almost no frizz! The shampoo really doesn’t lather much but that’s a good thing, its an adjustment for me as I am still trying to get my mindset out of the “if it isn’t bubbling its not clean” mentality. I also do not wash my hair everyday, I try to limit it to once a week to keep the healthy oils in my hair.

Natural Perfume: I bought this perfume from the the health food store for $12 & it came in this cute little carved soap stone container. Its unbranded but its made with a bunch of oils like jojoba oil. I rub the oil on my wrists and behind my ears. The smell is strong enough and lasts hours.

Natural Soaps: I buy these cheap at the health food store and keep them in all my bathrooms. They don’t dry out my skin and don’t leave any residue behind.

Bamboo Towels/Natural Sponges: After reading about the amount of bacteria that gets trapped in those plastic loofahs I switched to a natural sponge. As soon as its wet the sponge gets very soft and squishy and it drys out very quickly so you don’t get that musty soap smell. Bamboo towels are super absorbent and soft too.

cody

Mouth

JASON Sea Spearmint Mouthwash: After using my own natural mouthwash I started to miss that minty fresh breath that you’d get from something like Listerine or Scope. Minty fresh breath lasts for hours and when I pair this with the JASON toothpaste I don’t feel like my mouths cleanliness is being compromised at all.

JASON Powerful Peppermint Whitening Toothpaste: This toothpaste was cheaper than most natural toothpastes and it also tastes and feels like your typical store bought so it doesn’t feel as though you are sacrificing anything whatsoever. Before I used the Green Beaver brand and I didn’t mind them but I also felt like my mouth was dry after I brushed my teeth. With this brand no issues whatsoever!

mouth

One thought on “My Natural (Daily) Beauty Routine

  1. Pingback: Getting Ready for Baby (Naturally) – The Mainstreaming Hippie

Leave a Reply

