If you’re not enjoying your diet, you’re not doing it right

I have always heard that “If you’re not enjoying your diet you’re not doing it right” and I cant stress how true this is, especially now that I am committing myself more to eating healthy. If you don’t actually enjoy the foods you’re eating then you will slip right back into old comfy ways, easy as that. This is why you need to fine tune a diet to match you’re likes and dislikes.

I hate using the word diet because in reality its really just a lifestyle change. I am not restricting my foods and calories I am just making better decisions in what I choose to eat. Fruits and veggies are unlimited, there is no cap on those, I will eat as much as I want. I cringe watching people get sucked into those diets where you’re drinking or eating their own synthetic products that promise to make you loose weight fast. Shakes, TV dinner look-alikes, etc. Its sad people can’t just wrap their head around simply eating better and exercising. I think it really comes down to people not educating themselves on the food they eat. Also, I’m sure most people just don’t know where to start and want a jump in the process. Well, WAKE UP CALL, its a slow friggin’ process and its a complete lifestyle overhaul. There’s no short cuts, it really comes down to eating FRESH, PLANT BASED FOODS, minimizing your meat and grains intake, and eliminating processed foods. Not only that but shaping your diet to suit you.  

This week was our first go at meal planning, making a designated shopping list and eating whole fresh foods. Its also my first week back to food prepping. I find that if you keep food and snacks readily available it makes it way less easy to slip and binge or get something convenient. This week I’m pre-making spinach and tomato egg muffins for the mornings and grilling a bunch of veggies to store in the fridge. I have my veggies soaking in vinegar water (as I didn’t buy them organically). Remember to at least soak and disinfect items that are on the dirty dozen list if you can’t buy organically.

15943242_10157984220050375_1554076893_o

  1. Strawberries
  2. Apples
  3. Nectarines
  4. Peaches
  5. Celery
  6. Grapes
  7. Cherries
  8. Spinach
  9. Tomatoes
  10. Sweet bell peppers
  11. Cherry tomatoes
  12. Cucumbers

We gave ourselves a $115 budget for grocery shopping because we were really out of a lot of things and knew we were almost buying everything. This week we chose to make:

Honey Garlic Baked Cauliflower
Stuffed Bell Peppers
Mexican Chopped Salad
Lemon Broccoli Pasta
Balsamic Turkey Burgers w/ Caramelized Onion
Breakfast Egg Muffins
Grilled Vegetable w/ Goat Cheese Sandwiches
Turkey Tacos – Opting for Lettuce Shells

We also equipped ourselves with food to make a bunch of sides and salads. I already have the fixings for overnight oats and those have been fantastic for me. I usually have them as an energy boost after my yoga in the morning and they’re delicious and filling. When it comes to snacking its mostly been fruit or fresh veggies, sometimes granola or dill pickle sunflower seeds when I feel like munching out or get a salty craving. Fruit has been amazing for my sugar cravings because they are so sweet themselves. Larabar’s have been a life saver for when I’m on the go and get hungry (which is often these days). They are vegan and literally have 6 ingredients in them. I’ve also got into a routine of drinking peppermint tea before bed to help with digestion. I’m going to be honest and say I am eating mostly vegetarian because I haven’t liked meats much while I’ve been pregnant. My husband has no problem with that though and will gladly eat my portion of meat. We still buy meat for him and I have no problem making meals with it. In the end I’ve really been enjoying the foods I’ve been eating and never feel like I’m starving.

I thought I would post our shopping list which came to $117, only $2 over our budget! (we also had gift cards from Christmas which meant groceries were essentially free for us, yay!). It was amazing feeling putting away our groceries and putting almost nothing in the pantry and everything in the fridge, all fresh foods and so much that we will be set for over a week. On top of that we get to eat kick ass meals everyday and not feel like we are compromising on yummy food.

15935835_10157984023500375_1134577663_n

15970577_10157984023945375_312663250_n

Prenatal yoga has been kicking my ass (in a good way) and I can tell I’m significantly strengthening my muscles in my pelvis, legs, and butt. I can tell because of the days of pain and soreness in-between. Epsom salt baths have been my best friend! I’ve been feeling great after yoga and I love when I actually see results. Prenatal yoga is nice cause its very laid back and easy buy still very effective. ALSO, no lower back pain and I feel like the work I’m doing on my pelvis is helping with my neck pain and migraines.

So far I’ve been feeling great, now if only I could get my morning sickness under control! Being pregnant has definitely given me the kick in the butt I needed to start eating better because I know what I eat my baby is getting too. What’s more motivation then that? In the end I really just want the best for my little gremlin.

15942233_10157984049120375_495845240_n

Leave a Reply

