My Journey to a Mala

What is a mala? If you’re asking that then you are where I was a few weeks ago. I honestly had no idea up until a good friend shared a post of one she made herself. I was interested and started doing some digging and was overwhelmed with information. A mala is essentially a Buddhist meditation bead necklace or bracelet that has the same principle as a rosary. It allows you to count or keep track of your mantras while you are meditating. It can essentially be worn as well as its generally made with crystals, precious stones, wooden beads…all materials that have specific meanings and are associated with different things. These materials can be tailored to you and you can essentially harvest their properties and energies.

An article I found described it as ” a ‘heavenly garland’ used for reflection, yoga practice, cleansing of the chakras and crystal healing”. When I really thought about it, it just made so much sense. Meditation has always been an issue for me. I could never concentrate or clear my mind enough to sit down and focus on one thought, my mind always just races with 15 thoughts and stresses at once. I decided to make my own as well to help me concentrate and possibly enable me to get the full benefits of meditation. Something I have never really able to fully do.

I am making my mala specifically related to energies and spiritual properties I want to “harvest” or attract. I also did it a little differently and picked a specific mantra to recite relating to that specific bead type. Because there are so many variations of malas in all different religions and practices, they all vary in certain aspects. This means all malas are different and made with different intentions in mind. This is why I love the idea of making one myself, it will be 100% unique and catered to me.

 

Howlite (66 Beads – Crown Chakra): Peaceful and nurturing, relieves stress and anxiety. Calms an overactive mind and assists with meditation and spiritual connection. Eases sleep patterns. Increases understanding and patience. Boosts motivation and ambition. Assists goal realization

“I have a purpose in this life”

Moonstone (26 Beads – Crown Chakra): Uncovers parts of the self that we know least about. Personal growth. Encourages moving into the unknown with perception. Extremely protective stone, especially for travelers. Balances women’s hormones in line with the lunar cycle.

“I change my thoughts, I change my world”

Amazonite (12 Beads – Heart Chakra): Calms the soul. Facilitates personal growth and being true to ones self and others. Increases rationalism, and objectivity and balances the emotions.

“I am enough” or “Where I am right now is exactly where I need to be”

925 Sterling Silver (4 Beads – Counter Beads): Sacred metal of the moon, has a strong affinity for the tides of the ocean and water. Increases spirituality and intuition. Has powerful healing capabilities. Reflects light onto the soul.

“I am open to the abundance of the universe”

Grey Agate (1 Bead – Guru BeadCrown Chakra): Security, self-confidence and inner stability. Cleanses the aura. Stimulates creativity and intellect. Develops strength and resilience. Deepens spiritual connectivity, peace and calm.

capture

As I said there are many ways to make a mala, but I am sticking with the traditional 108 bead style. I’m also using larger silver beads for counter beads with a raised design so that its easier to feel them or take notice when I get to that point on the mala. Why 108? When I was doing research there were actually countless reasons all coming from different beliefs. I’m not going to sit here and name them all, but a few that I thought were interesting. There is said to be 108 Desires, Lies, and Delusions in humans. The chakra centers are where energy lines intersect, and there are said to be a 108 energy lines which meet to form the heart chakra. One of them, sushumna leads to the crown chakra, which is said to be the path to self-realization and enlightenment (This was part of the reason I used precious stones related to the heart and crown chakra in my own mala). If someone is able to reach a state of calmness & enlightenment during meditation they can have just 108 breaths in a day. There are 12 houses and 9 planets according to astrologers, 12 x 9 = 108. The average distance of the Earth from the Moon is 108 times the diameter of the Moon. The metal silver is said to represent the moon in astrology and silver has the atomic weight of 108. Honestly, there was tons more, creepy right?

When you use a mala in meditation, you aren’t supposed to pass over the guru bead. Once you finish your mantras then you simply just go back the way you came. The guru bead symbolizes a higher power beyond ourselves or your “teacher”. One does not skip over the guru bead when meditating as its seen as disrespectful or “stepping over” ones teacher. I figured with this principle that grey agate would be very suitable as a large guru stone because its said to deepen your spiritual connectivity.

I have ordered the beads and will make another blog post about how I made mine, the finished product and how its benefiting me! I love the idea of making one myself because its completely personalized to me and its something I put my own time and effort into doing. I will just have a better appreciation for it all around and a deeper emotional connection to something personal I have made for myself.

Leave a Reply

