A Fork in the Road

At one point in everyone’s life we come to a fork in the road. Do we go left or right? Or is it not so simple? Not everything can be classified into black or white, some decisions are a lot harder, especially when it comes to career choices. Lately its been something I have been thinking of a lot more since we know we have a baby on the way. I really want the best for my child and a solid career will definitely help that and get us to where we want to be with buying our first home and financial security.

Originally the plan was to go back to school after my maternity leave and pursue Kitchen and Bath Design as I have already done 3 years of an Interior Design course, but after realizing that it would 4-5 years until I am certified and really making money I started to consider other options. Not to mention the field is so competitive and usually requires a big move to a big city like Toronto. Realistically me and hubby want to eventually buy our first home and 4-5 years of certification and exams just seemed way to long when it comes to where we want to be in life.

Now, I am the type of person where I need to know what I am working towards…If I don’t have an understanding of that and my future goals then I feel totally lost and stressed out. I didn’t want to just “give up” on design after putting years of effort and money into my education but I knew I wanted to be out and making money QUICK and still dedicating myself to something I enjoy (I guess that’s everyone’s dream career, right?). I actually came across Event Management, its appealing because its a 1 year program, requires no certification, and there are tons of different avenues to go with it. Concerts, conferences, exhibits, weddings, recreational events, meetings, etc. There is always a demand and essentially the opportunity to eventually work for yourself.

I have also been considering getting certified as a Interior Decorator and Home Stager. Both are still in the “design” field and something I can handle or do freelance on the side. I would like to think that I am molding myself into a triple threat that dapples in everything I enjoy. The dream would be to one day work for myself! It sounds silly but I made pros and cons lists for both options (merely because that’s just how I organize my thoughts) and after long talks with my husband and parents I realized now is the time to make changes and prepare for the future. Okay, maybe not RIGHT now because I still have to have my baby and be a mommy, but there’s no harm in knowing what you are working towards. In the end I know I don’t want to work a minimum wage job for the rest of my life.

Changing a career path can be scary and completely out of your comfort zone but in the end you need to make the best decisions for yourself and family. When I was considering this new path I had an overwhelming calmness come over me, it just felt right in my gutt. Maybe I am naive thinking I can have my cake and eat it too when it comes to a career but I’d like to think that you should wake up everyday and enjoy your job, not dread doing it. I want to work to live not live to work. It really comes down to grabbing life by the horns and making the change to better yourself. There is nothing wrong with dedicating time to your own happiness.

So a fork in the road is a good thing. Take it for what it is and move forward. Feel good about your decisions and do whats best for yourself and family.

16144148_10158035195610375_1753187459_n

 

Leave a Reply

