Being Natural with Baby

In the last year I have managed to incorporate natural foods and items into my daily routine. I’ve managed to make all my own cleaning supplies, some of my toiletries, and replaced other beauty products with natural organic products (such as makeup, shampoos, moisturizers, etc.) Of course I have wanted to continue this lifestyle with my growing family and I’ve been thinking of ways I plan incorporate this lifestyle into my baby’s as well. Not only is this going to help us so much financially but I’ll feel good about doing it, in knowing that my child wont be exposed to nasty toxins and chemicals at such a young age.

Cloth Diapers, Wipes, and Inserts

This one is huge! Diapers are so expensive! They are also so full of chemicals. Yes, they are convenient and you don’t have to worry about touching a yucky mess longer than you have to, but in the end you are spending hundreds of dollars a month. I would rather get my hands dirty and spend one upfront cost of $400 than hundreds of dollars every couple months. From the research I have done on cloth diapering children tend to potty train sooner and there is less diaper rash and blow outs. Also with our waste-free adventure we are trying to limit the waste leaving our house and going to the landfill.

Burt’s Bees Baby Line/DIY Baby Toiletries

I love my Burt’s! I use their products regularly and I’m totally comfortable using their baby line. They have all the basics like moisturizers, baby oils, bath wash, dusting powder, diaper rash cream etc. Anything I don’t buy from them I can also make myself!

Making your own Baby Food

When the time is right, hopefully I will be breast feeding as long as I can. However if babe does start to show interest in food then making your own is KEY. No preservatives, no additives, just straight, healthy, natural, food. If it can be organic, even better! Also once again, hugely cost saving. It’s possible to make a months worth of baby food for $30-$50.

Breast Feeding/Organic Formula (if not an option)

Breast really is best! If I can breast feed without any issues (that’s the goal) then I plan to. If I can’t for some reason then I plan to use the best organic formula I can find. This wont be as cost efficient as breast feeding (considering breast milk is obviously free) but in the end I feel like its important to not skimp on baby formula if that’s the route you have to go.

Wooden Teethers & Amber Necklaces

So far I am not liking the idea of pacifiers but I am really going to just have to see if I need to go that route with my girl. When the teething stage comes I would like to attempt to use more natural teethers instead of plastics.

Attempting to use Natural, Organic Cottons/Bamboo

Obviously I know my baby won’t be only wearing or using organic cottons. But some things can be switched out like crib sheets, even an organic crib mattress, swaddle blankets, etc.

Attempting to Eliminate Unnecessary Plastics

This is kinda a tough one because there are so many baby products and toys that are plastic, and why wouldn’t they be? Durable and long lasting, its not like you would give your 1 year old a glass cup and plate. In the end I would like to still try to replace what I can with plastic free products. Some things are “a must” obviously but certain things can be considered like storing pre-made baby food into glass containers instead of plastic, BPA free tableware and bottles, etc.

Essential Oil Diffusers

Baby can benefit from aromatherapy too. We plan to use a oil diffuser with Lavender before bed to help calm baby and help her sleep. Considering she will be sleeping in our room for the first little bit we will also benefit from it too!

Baby Wearing

An ANCIENT practice. What the women in tribes did thousands of years ago. Not only is it efficient but great for mom and baby. Mom can still get things done and baby can be at ease and close. Its a great practice with attachment parenting and you can wear your baby up until the toddler years.

For Mom: Postpartum Health
(assuming a natural birth)

  • Healthy Meals, Hormone Balancing Teas, Lactation Teas
  • Lots of Water*
  • Essential Oils
  • Salt Water Baths/Sitz Baths, Padcicles (Witch Hazel & Aloe)
  • DIY/Natural Toiletries (Nipple Cream, Coconut Oil, etc.)
One thought on “Being Natural with Baby

  1. Pingback: Getting Ready for Baby (Naturally) – The Mainstreaming Hippie

Leave a Reply

